The latest good news from the Horror Writers Association shows that the horror genre is alive and well. On June 17th, 2006 during a swanky affair at the Newark Hilton, The 2005 Bram Stoker Awards were bestowed on some very fine writers for superior achievement in their field. I've had the pleasure of reading many of the selections, and of getting to know some of the recipients and I think this year's list is well worth noting for your reading list.

2005 Bram Stoker Award Winners

Novel: (Tie)
Creepers by David Morrell
Dread in the Beast by Charlee Jacob

First Novel: Scarecrow Gods by Weston Ochse

Long Fiction: "Best New Horror" by Joe Hill

Short Fiction: "We Now Pause for Station Identification" by Gary Braunbeck

Fiction Collection: Twentieth Century Ghosts by Joe Hill

Anthology: Dark Delicacies edited by Jeff Gelb and Del Howison

Nonfiction: Horror: Another 100 Best Books by Stephen Jones and Kim Newman

Poetry Collection: (Tie)
Freakcidents by Michael A. Arnzen
Sineater by Charlee Jacob

Speciality Press Award: Necessary Evil Press

Richard Laymon (President's Award): Lisa Morton

Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter Straub

As you can see, it's been a good year for horror, indeed! And no doubt the crop for the coming year will be superb. Congratulations to all of the 2005 Stoker winners, and good luck to wonderful writers of the horror genre for the 2006 ballots. It's bound to be some stiff competion. *wink*

And when you're done exploring the wonderful 2005 Stoker selections, get yourself on over to The Horror Library. Come Monday, you'll find the latest Fresh Meat selections for July, including Part 2 of Fine Print. Happy holidays!

Wickedly Yours,
Fran Friel